Spring When a Young Man’s Fancy Turns to – War

Recruiter's-Door

1    Comrades, leave me here a little, while as yet ’tis early morn:
2    Leave me here, and when you want me, sound upon the bugle-horn.

3    ‘Tis the place, and all around it, as of old, the recruiter’s call,
4     Sharp eyes gleaming, sugary voice calls me from my study hall;

5     This high school, my years of study here, I am done with it.
6     Now a uniformed friend has a proposition for this graduate.

7     Many a night, after home work, I dreamed ere I went to rest,
8     Of his words extolling me to rise up and fight for the West.

9     Many a night I saw the Pleiades, cutting the sky like a brand,
10   Glittering like my dreams of the exotica of foreign lands.

11   Here about the campus I wander’d, nourishing a youth sublime
12   With the fairy tales of math and science, and the long result of Time;

13   I thought of the years before me like a fruitful land reposed;
14   When I clung to all the present for the promise that it closed:

15   When I dipt into the future far as human eye could see;
16   Saw the Vision of the battlefield and where I would be.

17   In the Spring a fuller crimson comes upon the robin’s breast;
18   In the Spring a similar stain shall grace my broken chest;

19   It is Spring and the recruiter gestures me towards an open door;
20   It is Spring and a young man’s fancy lightly turns to thoughts of War.

Editors Note: Alfred Lord Tennyson’s poem Locksley Hall (1842) was used as the basis for this adaptation.

Leave a Reply

