Lectio Divina Paci – July 21, 2014

Matthew 13:1-9 “choke”

Monday, July 21st

for Sunday, July 27th, 7th Sunday after Pentecost

by Audrey Hindes

READ: Matthew 13.31-33, 44-52 “pearls”

REFLECT: At the first reading of this passage, I almost dismissed the phrase “in search of fine pearls.” I thought to myself, “’pearls’ only stands out to me because they’re both my father’s and my husband’s birthstone.” But I’ve learned over time to trust praying this Lectio Divina way, to trust that the Spirit is leading and prompting me in the direction I need to go.

The next time around the image of a strand of pearls came to mind. There is a necklace like this in our family. My dad bought it for my grandmother shortly before she died. I understand that she only ever wore them in the hospital. My mom wore them for my parents’ wedding. My sister and I also wore them for our weddings. Pearls of great value, indeed!

As I continued to read, I imagined the stringing together of these pearls, each one followed by a knot to secure it. Should a string of pearls break, all the pearls would not be lost. And I began to wonder, what else do I collect and string together in my life?

A lenten small group I lead this spring centered on the Ignatian practice of the Examen, in which one reflects on the day’s consolations and desolations – the highlights and lowlights. One day we talked about how the gathering up the graces of the day was like a strand of twinkle lights. One by itself might not seem like much, but a whole strand of twinkle lights can provide quite a bit of light.

RESPOND: God, I’m a little afraid to ask, but what am I searching for, and what does this say about what I value most? Help me to set those imitation pearls down. Help me to seek out and collect only what is good and which builds up others.

What do you string together like those twinkle lights? Does it provide light and warmth to others wherever you go? Or does criticism and cynicism radiate from you instead? What does this say about what you value? Free to respond or ask questions in the comments below.

LECTIONARY TEXTS FOR THE UPCOMING SUNDAY (and for you to try on your own):

Genesis 29:15-28

Psalm 105:1-11, 45b or Psalm 128

Romans 8:26-39

Lectio Divina Paci is a weekly devotional guide for peacemakers in the lectio divina form. Lectio Divina (Latin for divine reading) is a traditional Benedictine practice of scripture reading, prayer, meditation, and reflection that treats scripture as the Living Word. Lectio Divina Paci is an opportunity for peacemakers to become more in tune with the voice of the Prince of Peace.

Leave a Reply

