Lectio Divina Paci – July 28, 2014

Monday, July 28th

for Sunday, August 3rd, 8th Sunday after Pentecost

READ: Genesis 32.22-31 “crossed,” “striven,” “struck”

REFLECT: This is not how Lectio Divina is supposed to work. It’s supposed to be one word or one short phrase, not three words. They don’t even occur in the same phrase! But this is where Scripture as the living word really comes to life for me. I’m draw to these three words and I can’t help the chuckle that comes up when I think that they would make a nice three-point sermon.

Truth be told, I have to read through the passage a number of times before a clear sense of direction begins to emerge. I land first on the word “struck,” with an image of striking the outer shell of something, so that something else inside it – some true essence or being – can emerge.

I wonder about that shell, and I wonder what I myself am striving for. Am I striving to protect that shell? Keep it from shattering? And then I see the stream that must be crossed over, and a bird’s egg on one side. That egg isn’t going to cross that stream. But a bird hatched from the egg can fly over it.

RESPOND: God, it seems that there is no end to the streams in life that must be crossed. Sometimes I feel weary when I see the next one appearing on the horizon. I’d rather just stay in my shell. Help me to trust that you are preparing the way before me, and that you will provision me with all that I need for the crossing. Help me to remember the joy and freedom of emerging from dark and cramped places.

What stream is laying before you, waiting to be crossed? What would you need in order to cross it? What in you needs to be struck, cracked open? Tell God about your hopes and hesitations. How do you sense God responding? Feel free to respond or ask questions in the comments below.

LECTIONARY TEXTS FOR THE UPCOMING SUNDAY (and for you to try on your own):

Isaiah 55:1-5 Romans 9:1-5 Matthew 14:13-21

Lectio Divina Paci is a weekly devotional guide for peacemakers in the lectio divina form. Lectio Divina (Latin for divine reading) is a traditional Benedictine practice of scripture reading, prayer, meditation, and reflection that treats scripture as the Living Word. Lectio Divina Paci is an opportunity for peacemakers to become more in tune with the voice of the Prince of Peace.

Leave a Reply

