Lectio Divina Paci – October 13, 2014

Monday, October 13th

for Sunday, October 19th, 19th Sunday after Pentecost

READ: Psalm 99 “quake”

REFLECT: Maybe it’s just because I’m a homesick Californian, but the word “quake” stood out to me on my first reading of this psalm. Actually, “stood out” seems a bit strong; it was more of an inner, momentary ripple.

As I began to chew on “quake,” my mind went to the geological. I thought of the shifting of big plates under the earth’s crust. I thought of the engineering of buildings and bridges to sway with an earthquake, making them safer, more structurally sound, able to ride it out.

As I continued to read, a new image of a surfer came up, now cresting a wave, now riding through the barrel of it. In touch with the present moment, able to sense when the wave will break and come to an end.

I wondered about both of these images and put them into conversation with one another: both nimble, flexible, able to sense and adjust to the movement and change beneath them.

RESPOND: God, it seems that life is always changing. Just when I start to get a hold on my present situation and circumstances, something changes. It can be maddening. Give me the grace to be open to the new places where you are leading me, and the courage to go there willingly.

How in tune are you with your own inner stirrings and deep shiftings? What low rumblings have you been neglecting or ignoring? Ask God to look with you as you explore those places within yourself.

LECTIONARY TEXTS FOR THE UPCOMING SUNDAY (and for you to try on your own):

Isaiah 45.1-7

1Thessalonians 1.1-10

Matthew 22.15-22

 

Lectio Divina Paci is a weekly devotional guide by Audrey Hindes for peacemakers in the lectio divina form. Lectio Divina (Latin for divine reading) is a traditional Benedictine practice of scripture reading, prayer, meditation, and reflection that treats scripture as the Living Word. Lectio Divina Paci is an opportunity for peacemakers to become more in tune with the voice of the Prince of Peace.

Leave a Reply

