Lectio Divina Paci – March 16, 2015

March 16, 2015

(This is the fifth post in our Lectio Divina Paci Lenten series. To read the introduction, click here).

READ: Philippians 4.4-8 “which is beyond our understanding”

REFLECT: When it comes to faith, I tend to ride a giant pendulum swing. Sometimes I am completely at ease living my life open-handedly, waiting for God to place the right thing in my hands at the right time. Other times (sometimes the very next day) I succumb to the wisdom of the world and all of the expectations for striving, achieving, and working ourselves senseless. Anyone else, or is it just me?

But when I really look at my life, what I see is that when I am at my best and most healthy self, when I give up my own willfulness and align myself with the Divine Will, things just go better. By contrast they don’t go so well when I’m always striving, striving, striving. Sure, I may accomplish a few things – and they might even be good – but they’re nothing compared to what happens when I relax into the flow of God’s action in me and around me.

RESPOND: God, could it be that you’re calling us to stop striving all the time? Just let things happen as they will? As you will? Could it be that you’re asking us to let go of our own sense of responsibility? Even our own sense of what we think you want? Search our hearts, God, and show us where we’re confusing our willfulness with your will.

What are you afraid might happen if you stopped striving? What could fall apart? What might be left undone? Really take some time to think through the ramifications of letting something go. Could it be that some of the things we’re working so hard for are not really as important as we think they are?

Lectio Divina Paci is a weekly devotional guide by Audrey Hindes for peacemakers in the lectio divina form. Lectio Divina (Latin for divine reading) is a traditional Benedictine practice of scripture reading, prayer, meditation, and reflection that treats scripture as the Living Word. Lectio Divina Paci is an opportunity for peacemakers to become more in tune with the voice of the Prince of Peace.

Leave a Reply

