Lectio Divina Paci – April 13, 2015

Monday, April 13th

For Sunday, April 19th, 3rd Sunday after Easter

READ: Luke 24.36b-48 “touch me and see”

REFLECT: Before I even started reading, as my eyes glanced over this passage, these words stood out to me. As I began to pray, I remembered something that happened a number of years ago when I was teaching.

A colleague and I went to the cafeteria on campus for lunch. “Two Dollar Tuesdays” was a great way to get staff and faculty in the door. As I was walking with my lunch tray into the dining area, I noticed a number of people looking at me quizzically. As I scanned the room looking for my friend, I was also doing a mental scan of my person: Did I have something on my face? Had something wonky happened with my hair? My friend approached and I whispered, “why is everyone looking at me funny?” He looked back at me as if to say “you need to ask?” Still confused, he reached out and grabbed a carafe of sunflower seeds from my tray. “Like sunflower seeds, eh?” I was shocked. Apparently, I put the whole carafe of sunflower seeds on my tray and took it with me, rather than back on the salad bar – and was completely oblivious about it. I literally could not see it until he touched it.

RESPOND: God, you invite us to touch you, and we pray for you to touch us. Just as we love you because you first loved us, we pray that we might see, and that seeing, you would open our minds to understand and join with you in the work you are already doing right in front of us.

How can we touch Jesus when he is physically not right in front of us? One way is to get in touch with Jesus inside of you, and inside of those around you. What prevents you from seeing Jesus? What noise drowns out his voice? What obstacles block your view?

LECTIONARY TEXTS FOR THE UPCOMING SUNDAY (and for you to try on your own):

Acts 3:12-19

Psalm 4

1 John 3:1-7

Lectio Divina Paci is a weekly devotional guide by Audrey Hindes for peacemakers in the lectio divina form. Lectio Divina (Latin for divine reading) is a traditional Benedictine practice of scripture reading, prayer, meditation, and reflection that treats scripture as the Living Word. Lectio Divina Paci is an opportunity for peacemakers to become more in tune with the voice of the Prince of Peace.

Leave a Reply

