A Lamentation of Peace

by Keith Lyndaker

wpid-flower-clise-up-by-kmls-jpg

Peace is a strange thing.
I have dedicated my life to it.
My life has been changed by it,
but somehow within I am still in conflict.

In my heart I can find no rest.

I feel so weak,
tossed by the wind of every little thing,
nervous before a hard conversation,
so quick to anger at any perceived slight
or injustice.

Where is this peace that passes all understanding?

It is a gift,
as close as a petition,
a prayer from a grateful soul.

It is the guardian
of my heart and my mind.
I am commanded to not
be anxious.

All I have to do is be present
to its blowing.
All I have to do is ask for the wind.

(reprinted from peacegrooves.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

